Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Killer B’s Story Thread

Started by zsully, January 27, 2020, 09:07:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Delmar ODonnell

Was able to connect with this 2 year old bird at 10:45 this morning. I'll post the story and score later this evening. Very blessed!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

xbowhuntonly

Congrats Delmar

zsully

Congrats Delmar!!!! That's awesome. You're killing me. I still have a month before I can hunt in Pa

a_jabbo

YES!!! Delmar strikes again! Congrats buddy.

Delmar ODonnell

Thanks guys! So here's for a long winded story. I'm currently in my second year of law school at Ole Miss, and with all the coronavirus precautions, we've been moved to all online classes and the grades have been changed to pass/fail. These changes have allowed me to hunt every day it's not storming, and for that I am very fortunate.

The past few weeks have been a struggle, to say the least. It's always rough here in MS early season, with birds having lots of hens and are generally tight lipped once they hit the ground. Even then, I've been with 75 or so yards of a bird 5-6 times, and have had one at 40 yards, just on the wrong side of the property line, and also had a bird I was working killed by somebody else on Wednesday. As I'm sure all of yall can relate, these close calls, coupled with the days where I just strike out completely, make me feel like I completely forgot everything I know about turkey hunting.

This morning was Day 19 for me, and my best friend who hasn't turkey hunted accompanied me. Today's forecast was perfect: sunny, calm, and in the high 60s after an overnight thunderstorm. This was by far the best day we've had, and I thought it would bring a change in attitude to a bird or two. We only heard one bird on the roost, and as so often happens, he went quite shortly after flydown.