Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Welcome and Get to know each other

Started by jepcho, February 06, 2016, 09:19:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ILHUNTER

My name is Tony.  I live in central Illinois and in my we have only had a descent amount of turkeys for about the last 10 yrs and I have been hunting them for about the last 8 yrs.  My wife, my son and me all get landowners permits to chase the turkeys so instead of getting a permit and only having 5 to 7 days to kill one we get the entire 5 weeks, I usually get a 4th season permit also so I can get 2 if the turkey numbers are good that year.  I mainly hunt the weekends, but if they are talking good before I go to work I have been known to call in late.  In Illinois we have to quite hunting turkeys at 1:00 pm, and I have killed one at 12:58 before.

My wife has never gotten turkey, she usually only goes a few times with me to try and if it wasn't for a tree last year she prob. would have gotten a nice one.  My boy got his first last year and he is hooked and ready to go again this year.  He will be out for our youth season, then also the full season.

My go to gun has been an old Remington 870 express, with a truglo ssx .643 choke shooting magnum blends.  It's been a good shooting gun just had to adjust the POI with some adjustable sights when I went with the SSX choke.  Got an Indian Creek choke that im going to test in it in weather permits.

Also been debating on getting another gun so me and my wife can both have one and been looking towards the Mossberg 935 but not sure yet.

My son used a borrowed gun last year, a Mossberg 500 youth model, but this year I got him a youth model Remington 870 20 gauge and also waiting on the weather to get it patterned for him.  Hope to be shooting magnum blends in it also if not, will prob go with Federal HW #7.

I think this will be a good year for all of us and I'm glad to be on this team and lets go bust some beards..

Big perm2