turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Pot call question

Started by Idawg, October 06, 2015, 11:55:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Idawg

Hey everyone I am new to turkey hunting and seeing how I am a little obsessive with things I am certain I have found my new addiction.  That being said I was looking how pot calls are made and all the different wood and materials and I had a question for people who are more experienced than I am.  I am in the optical business so my mind probably doesn't work like a normal persons.  Has anyone ever tried a concave or convex playing surface or soundboard? Also there are materials that I have at my disposal for use that are glass, Polycarbonte, Cr-39, and trivex that we make optical lenses out of just wondering if any of these would be suitable for a pot call or if they have even been tried. I know I'm probably not the only one who has thought of this but I wasn't sure if a curved surface would change the sound of a call or not just a couple of questions any info would be great. 
Thanks,
Ben

mmclain

You may get that to work .   you'd probably need to curve the sound board too

TRKYHTR

I think Somebody came out with a concave soundboard last year. Still had a straight surface.

RIP Marvin Robbins

[img]http://i261.photobuck

Idawg

I was just wondering if sound was similar to light in how it traveled.  I am not as familiar with the mechanics of sound but light will converse or spread out based on the curvature of the lens or surface just wondering if anyone else might know more about sound than I do.  Thanks for your responses though. 
Ben

mastevt