North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Missed A Hoss Saturday

Started by bamagtrdude, April 07, 2015, 10:59:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bamagtrdude

repost from another site:

The reason why I love turkey hunting so much is it directly parallel's life... Sometimes, your best effort isn't good enough, and things don't turn out the way you work so hard for & plan it to be... There are times when things kick you in the crotch; that time was 6:30am this morning...

Since Wednesday, I'd been on a bird; not just a bird, but an old bird I've been hunting for several years... He was finally alone, with a group of 3 hens instead of with a subordinate gobbler in previous years... I did everything right in stalking this bird, including my setup this morning... I got into his bedroom, under full moon light, and got practically right underneath his roost tree, along with his hen... The hen flies down first, after a cackle, which he gobbles to immediately, like you always dream the script read, here he comes -- he walked right to my jake decoy & presented the perfect 25 yard shot... I never even issued a call all morning long, while this was unfolding before me...

I let loose the 1st LongBeard, and when I saw feathers fly everywhere, my excitement was in orbit -- that lasted all of .05 seconds b/c in that amount of time, now he's running full tilt, 10 yards in front of me, scampering away from "danger"... I shuck a 2nd round & completely whiff him this time... As he's gearing up for escape velocity, I lob a desperation round at him & then, he's gone... But he was flying awkwardly... For another moment, I thought - maybe I got him...