turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

need yalls opinions

Started by somedude, November 17, 2014, 11:41:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

somedude

Back ground on me. November 2012 I fell and broke my neck.  3 surgeries and 2 years lated, dr said I can go turkey hunting again!!!!!  Ok, I have an old 870 wingmaster 3 inch magnum 12 gauge with a 30 inchfull choke.  I am going to try to build a turkey gun.  Is there a barrel that is shorter and takes screw in chokes. What else can I do to make it a turkey gun.  Recoil is a problem too.  Should I put money into this gun or buy a remington 870 20 gauge to make a turkey gun?  My 870 is in great condition.  I just want a shorter barrel and screw in chokes. Thanks for your time. <>< del :turkey2:
A generous man will prosper; He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed.  Prov  11:25
DALES TURKEY CALLS
Stevens 20 gauge
Remington 870  12 gauge
https://i.imgur.com/howRdMo.jpg

Bigspurs68

In your situation, I'd buy a 20ga turkey gun. You'll have a lighter gun and with the right load/ choke combo, you'd have a mild recoiling turkey killer.
Momma said "Kill that turkey"

mgm1955

Quote from: Bigspurs68 on November 18, 2014, 12:20:23 AM
In your situation, I'd buy a 20ga turkey gun. You'll have a lighter gun and with the right load/ choke combo, you'd have a mild recoiling turkey killer.
I agree. Think this option will result in less wear and tear on you. You want to be able to hunt for many more years to come.

gwa

And go one step further and make it a semi-automatic twenty gauge.

Denny

outdoors

Sun Shine State { Osceola }
http://m.myfwc.com/media/4132227/turkeyhuntnoquota.jpg

noisy box call that seems to sound like a flock of juvenile hens pecking their way through a wheat field

davisd9