North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Hey There From Upstate SC

Started by SCGobbler, February 13, 2014, 09:08:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SCGobbler

Hello,

I'm one of the new members this year.

My name is Walt Whitman and I am from South Carolina.  I am a self-taught turkey hunter with about 12-13 gobblers under my belt.

Started turkey hunting in 1989 and used primarily mouth calls and a box call at the time; didn't really know what I was doing so it took me about 6 years to finally kill one.  Once I had one under my belt, I was hooked!

I am a husband and father of 3 (12 year old, 10 year old, 5 year old.)  They keep me pretty busy.  The oldest doesn't have any interest in the outdoors, my son in the middle is my right hand man when it comes to hunting, and my youngest... well, my wife likes to say we are OVERLY blessed!  ;)  I have a feeling she will want to go hunting as well one day.

I hunt mainly a hunting club lease and a small 200 acre spot in the upstate my dad as rights too.  I have been toying with the idea of public land, but just haven't since I have access to my hunt club lease and the family lease.  I look forward to trying to help you guys out this Spring and spending time with my boy.

The outdoors are very important to me and I am spending as much time in the woods as I can to insure that the tradition is passed on.

God bless and let's roll some heads!

Walt Whitman
The SC Gobbler
James 1: 2-4
The SC Gobbler

Some men are mere hunters; others are turkey hunters.
                    —Archibald Rutledge

JVA54

Walt good to have you on the team this year.  My name is John Aud and I live in southeast Illinois, did you get the ice storm where you live?

davisd9