turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Burned Area

Started by Bombnuke, March 10, 2011, 08:34:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bombnuke

Newbie here... I am hunting an area that the landowner burned approx 3 weeks ago and was wondering if it will bother the turkey movement?  I deer hunted this area and they came through every time I was sitting in the stand. Opener is coming up real soon and I have not had a chance to scout the area as much as I should.

Thanks,

Scott
Waiting to shoot Tom in the face...

J Gilbert

The turkeys will be all over the freshly burned land, especially if you've had some rain and nice weather to get things growing.

Kylongspur88

Turkeys LOVE LOVE LOVE a fresh burn. All those fresh grasses and BBQ bugs!!! Your lucky you have a place to hunt where they did that. I have seen birds in burn areas a day after the flames were out. I know a guy who killed a bird that had the beard singed off where he had been picking through a fresh burn and must have brushed up on a hot log or coal. Good luck!

pittboss

Quote from: Kylongspur88 on March 10, 2011, 08:54:46 PM
Turkeys LOVE LOVE LOVE a fresh burn. All those fresh grasses and BBQ bugs!!! Your lucky you have a place to hunt where they did that. I have seen birds in burn areas a day after the flames were out. I know a guy who killed a bird that had the beard singed off where he had been picking through a fresh burn and must have brushed up on a hot log or coal. Good luck!

X2  I hunted an area last year that was recently burned.................. I had to beat them gobblers off with a stick cause the were so thick :icon_thumright: :icon_thumright: :icon_thumright:

pittboss
Gobble Gobble Boom !!!!!

Skeeterbait