OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Goals for Next Season.

Started by davisd9, August 24, 2012, 09:27:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

davisd9

I know that we have 219 days, 20 hours, and around 50 minutes until April 1, 2013 6:00 am, but every year I set a few goals for myself to see if I can accomplish.

This past season I accomplished a good many of my goals for last year and for my hunting career. I am still pretty new to turkey hunting, this year was my 7th season chasing Mr. Tom, so I still have some goals that the more experienced hunters have done time and time again.

The goals that I accomplished last year for my turkey hunting career was kill a bird in another state (Ms, thanks to my good buddy dirt road ninja), kill a bird with 1.25" spurs, and kill a bird with one of the fellows that have been a great help to my turkey hunting career (deacon, CJ Stahly, and almost got one with 2ounce6s, will hope to get that one next season )

The goals I accomplished for the season were kill a bird with a mouth call (worked all last season learning the mouth call and thanks to 2ounce6s I was able to kill 2 of the 5 Toms with a mouth call), kill a bird on opening morning (Did that with my good buddy CJ Stahly), kill only Toms (no jakes), kill more that two birds, make a bird strutt, spit and drum coming in (my opening morning bird), and give the Lord all the thanks for his blessings.

My goals for this year are:
- Kill a bird with my TRCall Maker Box Call.
- Kill a bird with 2ounce6s.
- Limit out in SC (had more than one chance to check this goal off this year but the mojo was not there.)
- Kill a bird with 1.5" spurs (this one may not happen but I like to have one of those far out goals)
- Kill a different subspecies. (Trying to go to Fla.)
- Hunt with more friends.