Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Help patterning and chokes for 870 20 gauge? (New guy)

Started by deer-turkeyhunter, June 22, 2012, 05:56:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deer-turkeyhunter

Hello,

I am new to the 20 gauge idea.  I have purchased a 870 20 gauge.  I have taken it crow hunting and it is a blast to shoot.  It is also really light.  I have a few question which I am sure have been answered numerous time before but all the information is mind boggling.  So I will just ask again.  Thanks in advance for all the replies.
1.  What is the optimal pellet count for a shotgun for a shot from 20 yards to 40 or 45 yards.  I guess the question is how many pellets should be in the 10 in circle at 20 yards and how many in it at 40-45? I have read a wide range of pellet counts.

2.  Next I have started collecting choke tubes.  Now I have a Remington super full that says led only.  Can I shoot the Heavy 7's.  What would everybody recommend?

I also have a Mad turkey choke made by Indian creek.  I plan on getting a few more such as SSX and a Carlsons .555 turkey choke.  I am not sure about the Sumtoy?

3.  Also could somebody please explain all the different types of ammo.  I read a lot about the Heavy #7 and some 13.  I need all the help i can get. 

I am sure  I will have more questions in the future so please bare with me.

Thanks

deer-turkeyhunter

savduck

You have a proven 20 ga turkey killer that many on here use. Search enough topics and you will find plenty of info on questions asked. Many on here that shoot factory loads stick with number 7 s from either federal or Hevi shot. A lot of others hand load TSS 9s.