turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Quiet birds

Started by jasoncarave, April 02, 2012, 10:02:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jasoncarave

Ok I am fairly new to turkey hunting. I live in west Tn, our season just opened up and I cant get a tom to gobble. Not even a shock gobble. It has been extremly warm for this time of year. What can i do to help locate birds?

dirt road ninja

:welcomeOG:

I'd talk with other folks that hunt the same general area and see if they are hearing any.

Are you sure there are turkeys where you are hunting? If so, then just go to an area with sign and sit still without calling and see if ya hear something.

If you are hearing birds, but they are not responding to your calls you might not be sounding like a turkey.

I find shock gobbling works best when I'm with in 150 yards of a bird.

Good luck.

glennz

Go before dark, usually if theres a turkey around he will gobble once or twice before day break.

jakebird

Hunting pressure, weather, and breeding phase all dictate gobbling activity. In this case u may not be able to raise a gobble. Best to locate sign and hunt over it, calling sparingly. However, a turkey cannot mask the sound of wingbeats, and if u think u know where they roost, slip within a hundred yds in the morn and eve and listen for the thumping of those wings going up to bed or down in the morning. Tune in close for spitting and drumming, too. They often do that in the tree even when they dont gobble. Use a hearing aid if u have to. Hope this helps you some. Good luck!
That ol' tom's already dead. He just don't know it yet .... The hard part is convincing him.

Are you REALLY working that gobbler, or is HE working YOU?

worth612000