turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

public land field hunting question

Started by Ky strutt n bust n, March 27, 2012, 12:29:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ky strutt n bust n

i hunt religously on a huge chunk of public land here in western ky, Land between the Lakes. i've been hunting there for 10+ years and was wondering out of 150,000 + acres or so why i have hardly ever see turkeys in fields like you would anywhere else. and i dont mean in the middle of hunting season but like now, pre-season with no pressure. i know of a few hide away big green fields that are about a mile or so from any gravel road, where i have never seen another mans foot track, surrounded by huge ridges, and creeks, and have never seen nor heard a bird in these fields. very seldonly  my question is why not? why dont the turkeys use these fields? i have better luck working birds on logging roads, and huge wooded ridges than in a beautiful green field where youd see them strutting on the side of interstate but not a mile off the nearest road. ive wondered this for years but would like kinda of an logicial exaplantion. !!!

ThicketThrasher

Here in the east Tennessee mountains, we have some fields that were cut out by the forest service during logging operations several years ago. These fields are usually miles from a paved road. The forest service will keep them mowed a couple times a year but I have never seen turkeys using these either. I really can't say why, but I would assume that since there are no cattle in these fields, the turkeys don't have alot to eat here. The fields are fescue  and usually about 2-3 acres in size.

mnturkey

I hunt a large public land area in MN and I strictly hunt the field edges, our fields are plowed and corn, soybeans and alfalfa are planted.  I have had considerable luck with the fields.
If the fields are left and grow over with no food they most likely will just pass through.
SEMPER FI