News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

tactics for newbie

Started by firstimer, March 24, 2012, 08:40:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

firstimer

Firstimer here,

I will be hunting public land and will not have an opportunity to roost birds the night before.  So, I have scouted the land and have found a few promising spots.  But since I am new to this, I cant tell just how good they might be.  

If you were in my shoes, what would be the best tactics to try once I settle in before daylight?    Calling in the dark (owlor turkey), or wait until sunrise.  Then, if nothing pans out, how long should I wait until I try another location?  

Unfortunately, I have never hunted turkey before, so your advice is not only welcome, but needed!  Every little bit helps.  Thanks

Turkey Beard

I'd give the turkeys time to wake up and call on their own but if you start hearing crows I believe it's getting to be time that they SHOULD be gobbling.  At this point I'd consider owling or crowing at them.  If there's still no gobbling going on I'd stay put in your areas that are likely rather than busting through the woods, potentially spooking silent birds.  After the mid-morning lull, when the hens go to nest, the toms may start sounding off and you can get after them.  Obviously, if you DO hear gobbling, either early or late, you can get after them as per normal... or whatever passes for "normal" in the turkey woods.
1UP GAME CALLS - Calls That Put'em On The Wall..
www.1upgamecalls.com

gunnerj

Scout as much as you can. Make notes of where you see birds and where they are going. Find where they like to roost (this maybe several different places on the same property, but they generally go off the same way every day).  Knowing your ground is the key.