turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Public land advice

Started by Kenny, March 19, 2012, 08:51:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kenny

Hello fellas, I'm new on the forum. Name is Kenny and I live in the ozarks in Arkansas. I've been chasing easterns for 27 years. I'm really wanting to go after rios or Merriams next year. I'm just a working man, with two kids, so I don't want to pay guide fees. I do it on public land here, and feel like I can get it done anywhere. I'd really apreciate if I could get pointed in the right direction on a public land hunt for rios or Merriams. Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, colorado, or south Dakota would be feasible to drive for me. I'd like to bring my wife and kids, camp a week, and hunt my and my sons tail off. Hes a turkey nut. Eight years old with a jake and a longbeard to his credit. Thanks in advance for any replys.

Nick_The_Tinkerer

:wagon:

Im no where near as experienced as yourself...but Im going to say the best way would be to contact the game department of each state, and speak with person, get some info on all public lands and the game bilogist for that areas...then when you do your desktop scouting what ever looks good to you then call the biologist about the area you are interested in...that way you can narrow down a area, heck he may even tell you a better spot.

Good luck and tell us how you do.

mkretch

I'm with Nick.  I'm a first year turkey hunter, decided to give it a try this year so I've been doing all the reading and research I can do.  I'll be on public land, being new to this part of Western NC, and one of the things I did was pick a gameland close to home and then go to the state website to find the Wildlife Officer for that county.  I've made several scouting trips to this part of the mountains, and so I gave him a ring last week to verify some 'gray areas' in the rulebook and to ask some general advice.