turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

(newbie help)Budget turkey choke an lead load combo

Started by ohiomossyoak, December 21, 2011, 01:09:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ohiomossyoak

Howdy,Im a bit new to turkey hunting..I picked up a Mossberg 835 Ulti-mag with 24in barrel,woodland camo with a drilled an tapped receiver...Where do i start choke,and load wise?I dont mind spending up to 30-50$ for choke an 15 to 20$ for 10 rounds of lead...Any thoughts?What is a reasonably priced red dot that will work? I look forward to learning from all of you
"Mister X"=2013 Recon'ed Stryker Strykezone 380 covered in Mossy Oak Treestand camo(1inch groups@45yards off a bench with Slick Trick Broadheads)
"General Patton"=Mossberg 835 Ulti-Mag/24in ported barrel in  woodland camo

dirt road ninja

ohiomossyoak ,

Dollar for dollar the Primos Jellyhead is solid choke in the 835's. If you keep an eye on the classifieds here you should be able to pick up a quality choke used for 40% - 50% under retail.

As far as lead goes the Winchester HV #6 is a decent shell. I would venture to say your gun with the factory turkey choke and some Heavy 13's #7's will put up better numbers then a aftermarket choke with lead. Mine does. If your looking to put up big numbers on the pattern board your going to have to shoot a heavy shot., but I've killed turkeys with both and they never knew the difference.

I currently don't shoot a scoped turkey gun, but have had very good luck the Tru-Glo magmun series open sights. They are easy to install, rock solid and have withstood a plenty of 3.5" rounds. They sell for around 60 bucks.

The 835's are great turkey guns and seem to be a little easier to performance out of then most other guns.

Good Luck.

dawei