turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Size of scratch box striker

Started by Gint S, March 31, 2023, 03:53:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gint S

I just received Bob Fulcher scratch box, beautiful call, a little  louder than Lonnie Gilbert's, regarding sound quality, I think they are in the same league. But Gilbert's have biggest strikers. I use them with all my scratch box calls: SS, No Bull, etc. They are the most versatile regarding different sounds. Can somebody of seasoned users explain, what is advantage of very small strikers, B.Fulcher's, SS others. Do I miss something?

Guskie

Very good topic. I'm new to scratchers and would enjoy a discussion on how striker thickness, width, and length effects tone and volume. Obviously wood densities is a big factor as well.

GregGwaltney

Much of the decision on striker size/weight/wood depends on the scratcher itself, each one may require different tuning. This is just my thoughts based on the scratchers I have made.
gwaltneygamecalls.com

2024 S.E. Comp-1st Place & Best in Class Trumpet
2024 Grand Nat'l-1st Air Operated Trumpet
2024 Grand Nat'l-2nd Air Operated Trumpet
2023 Grand Nat'l-2nd Air Operated Trumpet
2023 S.E. Comp-3rd Place Trumpet
2022 Grand Nat'l-5th Air Operated Trumpet
2021 Grand Nat'l-2nd Air Operated Trumpet
2021 Grand Nat'l-5th Air Operated Trumpet
2019 Grand Nat'l-3rd Air Operated Trumpet

SS Calls