OldGobbler

OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

If you could own turkey hunting land in any state, which would it be?

Started by Timmer, February 27, 2023, 08:22:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timmer

Hello all,

I have been hoping and planning for over 20 years to buy hunting & cabin land in southeastern MN by the time I retire.  I'm getting very close to being able to pull the trigger.  Likely sometime in the next 6-18 months depending on the timing of some investment stuff I have going on.  As much as I love this area of MN, the price per acre has gone up immensely over time due to corporate farm demand for land and leases, and recreationalists for the phenomenal white tail hunting.  At the same time, at least for the general part of the state where I hunt, turkey hunting success has gone down over time.  Maybe it's population cycles, maybe it's hunting pressure, predators, whatever.  I have several friends down there and during the turkey hunting season have a coffee break at a local cafe with a group each morning.  All of us hunt on private land, and for most of the group, it's their own land.  More and more over the years the talk has shifted further to it being "just not what it used to be."  Over the last couple of weeks I've been looking at other states and I am seeing that land is significantly cheaper just about everywhere I look, in many cases the price per acre is 50% less or more.  It's got me wondering if I shouldn't change my plans.  For the money I'd be saving I could easily pay for traveling numerous times per year.  So, if you guys could purchase 300-600 acres of turkey hunting land in any state, where would you buy it? I am partial to wooded hills over ravines and river bottoms.