OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Browning Cynergy Setup Questions

Started by Mabren2, November 30, 2022, 09:19:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mabren2

I have a 26" Browning Cynergy Ultimate Turkey on the way. This will be my first dedicated turkey gun setup, and I am willing to spend some money on chokes and ammo combos to get the setup exactly the way I want. For the last 20 years, the only gun I've used is a stock SX2 with a single bead and the factory full choke, so all of this is new territory for me. This has been an idea I've been kicking around for a couple of years now, so I'm excited to finally get the gun in hand and start this project!

Ideally, I'd like to use one barrel for TSS and maximum pattern density/range, and the other barrel I would like to setup for average range and a lead load. Not looking to go full-on spreader here.

So here come the questions:

1.) Given the above, what chokes would you recommend to start with?

2.) What are your preferred TSS and lead loads, and 3" or 3.5"? I am looking to get away from long beards.

3.) What are your thoughts on optics, and if you use, what do you recommend? Do they hold zero well, or get knocked off easily in tough conditions?

I've been a member here for years and I know the wealth of knowledge this forum has to offer, so thanks in advance for any advice you can give me!

Tom007